Avenue de Cortenbergh 71 Phone: +32 2 739 63 89 1000 Brussels Belgium

Email: info@ecp4.eu website: www.ecp4.eu

## **Press Release**

Brussels, 22 April 2021

## **New ECP4 President**

Dr. Bertrand FILLON was unanimously elected as President of ECP4 at the last General Assembly held on 20 April.



Dr. Fillon will represent EuPC in the ECP4 Board. He is currently the Vice President of European Affairs of CEATech for renewable energy (photovoltaic, hydrogen, fuel cells and batteries), microelectronics, digital, industry 4.0, circular economy and materials. He is also the head of the scientific committee of the French polymer cluster Polymeris and the French Plastic institute; he is scientific advisor of the French Polymer Group (GFP) and of the CRITT MDTS in France. He is in the scientific committee of the OE-A (Organic Electronic Association). He is involved in different European platforms and associations, and in different expert groups at international and national levels. He has been in the board of NANOfuture, EMIRI, 4M, etc. From 2016 to 2019 he worked as General Director of Research of the French Plastic

Institute. He has a number of technical publications, books co-author and patents in the field of polymer packaging and processes.

Dr. Bertrand Fillon said after his election:

"I would like to reinforce the link between the different European research centers in order to support the plastic and composites European industries towards the innovation of the next generation products and processes. The development through safe and sustainable by design plastics is a societal urgency. The links with other European Associations will be a key factor to create synergies and overpass these great challenges of all actors in the plastic and composites value chain."

Representatives from Aimplas, Mondragon Corporation, Fraunhofer ICT, IPC, Proplast, RESCOLL, and SIRRIS were again re-elected as ECP4 Board Members. CIDETEC and GAIKER, were newly elected as guests in the ECP4 Board.

## Mr. Clement de Meersman appointed Honorary President of ECP4

Also Mr. Clement de Meersman has been appointed as **ECP4 Honorary President**. Mr de Meersman has been the ECP4 President for the past 9 years.

## Contact:

ECP4 Executive Secretary, Maria Estela Izquierdo - maria.estela.izquierdo@eupc.org